GOODBYE MOM

In the interest of getting to know who I am, I’m sharing stories from my life. I call them Preliminary Files and I hope you enjoy them.

Mom
I was born in California. In Los Angeles.

When I was one year old I remember standing next to the kitchen sink, steadying myself with the help of a cupboard door handle to my immediate left. I believe I was facing south and the linoleum was a dingy shade of yellow.

My mom came into the kitchen wearing a long black gown. Seeing the tips of her black shoes and the hem of her dress touching the floor, I opted to look up. Big mistake. I did not properly estimate the weight of my own head. It toppled me over backward and my fingers got twisted up in the cupboard door handle and crying ensued.

I never saw my mom again after that.

(My Lesson: You never know how long a loved one will stay in your life. And; always seek balance.)

Leave a Reply

