How do I Become a Prolific Artist?

The MC2 Formula


Example of a quick stick-figure map/plan for use later when I feel like producing

 

Here’s how:

  1. Pay attention to only two or three of the vast amount of ideas that occur to you
  2. Jot them down right away and if you have time draw a quick map or plan that you can refer back to if you lose the idea in your memory
  3. Work on more than one project at once so that if progress pauses on one project you can keep going on another

A prolific artist is someone who creates a large number of works in a given amount of time. We all receive inspiration to create many things, but we don’t always act on that inspiration. And sometimes those creative ideas can fade into obscurity.

If I could show you the catalog in my mind of artistic creations I perceive to be nearly ready to become materialized, I’m pretty sure you would ask me what in the world I’m waiting on. And I would agree with you wholeheartedly.

I want to Materialize my Creations 2 start enjoying them and sharing them with others!

But the list is somewhat virtual. It’s a moving target, and just a tad volatile. When the idea occurs to me, it comes full on and ready to enter manifestation, but if I catalog it, (like I most often do) it begins to evaporate just a little amongst the many other important things to remember. Over time it can actually fade completely away as if the idea had never even struck me.

So what I really have at any given moment is a partial list (at best) of some potentially cool ideas that I may be able to coax into being if I work diligently toward their realization when the mood to produce hits me. This is an extremely important factor. I only act on inspiration when I’m in the mood to produce. And those productive moods don’t always coincide with the moments I receive inspiration.

Consequently I’ve come to the conclusion that the complete catalog will never make it out here into the real world. I have to joyfully accept this reality because not only will my memory occasionally fail to retain a creation idea long enough to coincide with the productive mood, but those ideas are infinite. They never stop. They rush in several times a day and there are not enough hours in my lifetime to really get them all tended to.

But I still want to Materialize my Creations 2 start enjoying them and sharing them with others!

I have paid attention to how I operate when I’m in the productive mood. I like to have a minimum of two and sometimes three creations to work with at once. I don’t mean to create simultaneously, but when you do the kind of found object-assemblage-sculpture work I often find myself doing, you’ll notice there are times when glue has to dry; Metal has to become patinated; One layer of paint must dry before adding another, etc., etc. That can mean waiting up to 24 hours before you continue to monkey with your creation. With two or more projects to tend to, you have the luxury of being able to switch gears and keep the creative momentum going. I love when that becomes a seamless process in my flow of productivity.

My lesson has been that I realize I only need two or three ideas from that infinite list and I can jot them down the minute they occur to me. And if I do, they actually stand a chance of being materialized, coming into fruition and capable of being shared. Plus I get the supreme satisfaction of keeping my creative juices flowing when one project requires some incubation by simply turning my focus onto another creation.

Next time you find yourself hoping to get all of your creative ideas out into the real world, you can take solace in the fact that it really only takes a few of those ideas to really succeed at this. Use the MC2 formula:

  • Try to jot the ideas down the minute they come to you.
  • If you have time, draw a quick stick figure map/plan like the one pictured above so you’ll have instructions when the mood to produce hits.
  • Once the mood to produce kicks in, work on more than one project at once.

We can become prolific artists two or three projects at a time. It really works!

Leave a Reply

